Model 51 broken carrier release

Moderator: ripjack13

Copper BB
PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2016 8:50 pm
Im new to working on a 51. Its not cycling completely, IE it doesn't load the next shell automatically. Nearly all the forums suggested replacing the action spring and the buffers as well as inspect the slide assembly for cracks. Ive done these things, but it still doesnt cycle.

Ive discovered the carrier release has a broken / missing tab. (See picture). I plan to replace it. Ive been studying the operation and can't understand what catches the carrier release. The underside of the slide assembly is basically smooth. It would seem to me that there should be some sort of catch to hook the carrier release and pull it back.

Thanks for your replys.
Attachments
51 Slide (1).jpg
51 Slide (1).jpg (105.98 KiB) Viewed 44840 times
51 Slide (2).jpg
51 Slide (2).jpg (108.5 KiB) Viewed 44840 times
PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2016 2:20 pm
Welcome to the Ithaca Owners Forum !!

Please introduce yourself to our community via the New Member Welcome Area...

Enjoy the forum.
PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2016 2:20 pm
As far as your question, I'll leave it to the experts here.
.270 WIN
PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2016 3:32 pm
why would it need to be pulled back?
its a gas assisted inertia system.

is the old shell ejected?
if so I would start looking at the trigger pack timing and if the mag shell stop springs are working properly

Copper BB
PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2016 7:12 pm
twistedoak wrote:why would it need to be pulled back?
its a gas assisted inertia system.

is the old shell ejected?
if so I would start looking at the trigger pack timing and if the mag shell stop springs are working properly

As the pressure pushes the bolt and slide assembly back it has to also catch and pull back this carrier release about 1/4 inch so that the carrier will lift the next shell up into the chamber. I cant find anything that does this on the slide assembly.